Alachisoft StorageEdge - Online Documentation

Clean Garbage BLOBs job

 
 
When BLOBs are deleted from SharePoint's Administrative Recycle Bin, these BLOBs become garbage. In order to remove the garbage BLOBs, users are supposed to run this job. Whenever a file in SharePoint is updated, the older one does not get deleted, it becomes garbage and unnecessarily consumes the storage space on your Storage Profile. It’s a recursive job and garbage will not be removed until it is 5 minutes old. You just need to schedule it once for a single profile. To remove the older files, the Clean Garbage BLOBs job can be used.
      To schedule the job, here are the steps:
 
  • Click on the Application Management tab on Central Administration page.
  • Click on Storage Optimization under StorageEdge Management.
  • Click on Externalizer Profiles under Storage Optimization.
  • Click on a Storage Profile and select Edit.
  • At the end of the page, you will see "Clean Garbage BLOBs". Check the "Run this job on following schedule" check box.
  • To schedule this job, users are supposed to enable the job and specify the server and time for the job to run.
  • "Enable job throttling" option will apply the already configured throttling settings for this job.
  • "Edit Settings" will jump you to the Job Throttling page, where you can reconfigure the speed for this job.
     
     
 
  • Click the Ok button.  
     
 
 
See Also

 
Copyright © 2012 Alachisoft. All rights reserved.