Alachisoft StorageEdge - Online Documentation

Removing a Storage Tier

 
User can remove a Storage Profile to prevent its access from EBS/RBS or remove its content from the EBS/RBS. To remove a particular Storage Profile, here are the steps:
 
  • Click on the Application Management tab on Central Administration page.
  • Click on Storage Optimization under StorageEdge Management.
  • Click on Externalizer Profiles under Storage Optimization.
  • Click on a Storage Profile name and click on Edit to open the configuration page.
  • Single click on a Storage Tier name and click on Remove to delete the tier.
     
     
     
     
  • User will be directed to the new page where he\she will be asked to select the storage location to move the data of the removing tier.
 
  • User can either move the contents of the tier to the "SharePoint Content Database" or to some other storage tier in a profile.
  • In case of "Another Storage Tier" option, select the tier you wants to transfer the data from drop down menu.
 
  • "Revert filtered BLOBs to database" option will move all those BLOBs to database which cannot be transfer to next tier. For example if user wants to delete tier 1 and move its content to tier 2. There might be some filtering criteria on destination tier, which will not allow some of the BLOBs to move on. In such cases we suggest user to revert the remaining BLOBs to database otherwise the BLOBs will remain in tier 1 and it will not be deleted.
  • Click Continue if you wish to proceed.
 
 
 
 
Note:   
 
* If there is any garbage inside the tier, it will not be removed. So it is recommended that garbage should be cleaned up before removing a tier.
 
* User will not be able to delete the tier if there is no other tier in the profile.
 
 
 
See Also

 
Copyright © 2012 Alachisoft. All rights reserved.