Alachisoft StorageEdge - Online Documentation

Creating Linker Profile

 
To add a Linker Profile, follow the steps given below:
 
  • Click on the Application Management tab on Central Administration page.
  • Click on Storage Optimization under StorageEdge Management.
  • Click on Linker Profiles under Storage Optimization.
  • In the top left side of the page, you will see "Add new Linker Profile" option, click on it. It will open a new page to configure linker profile.
 
 
Configure Staging Area:
 
  • A linker profile can't be created without configuring staging area, first you need to specify staging area then you can create a linker profile. If staging area is not already configured, then it will ask you to configure staging area at this point through General Settings.
 
 
 
 
Adding a Linker Profile:
 
  • On the new linker profile page specify the name for the linker profile.
 
 
Library URL:
 
  • Select an already created web application using Browse button. Here you need to have a SharePoint document library specified to link the documents from storage device.
  • Browse button will open up a dialog box having all web applications. You are supposed to expand your desired web application and select the particular site and document library.
 
 
Source Location:
 
  • Source Location allow user to select the location of files which need to be linked on SharePoint document library.
  • "Add new Storage Device" will open up a dialog box. Here you need to enter the device Name and the Path of the source location.
  • Enter the storage path in the text box in this format: \\server1\blobstore. Or \\StorageEdge\BLOB.
  • For secure connection use credentials also otherwise credentials are optional to use. You can validate path information and credentials as well.
  • "Directory Filter Control" is used to filter the folders contained by file share to be linked with SharePoint document library. By default all folders and directories are selected but user can select specific folders by expending the tree.
  • Click Add button to add the storage device.
  • Multiple storage devices can be added in a Linker profile.
 
 
 
Create Device Folder:
 
  • If "Create Device Folder" option is enabled then a folder with the same name as device name will b created in document library after sync job executes.
  • If there are more than 1 linker devices then separate folder will be created for each device and it is recommended to enable this option in case of multiple linker devices.
  • If this option is selected then documents will be uploaded in root of linked folder and if this is unchecked then documents will be uploaded in root of linked library.
 
 
 
Dual Mode Linker:
 
  • If "Dual Mode Linker" option is enabled then any document uploaded either in root of linked library or root of linked folder depending upon “create folder device” option, will be linked to the configured linker profile.  If folder hierarchy is created inside the linked folder then same hierarchy will be linked to configured linker profile.
  • If Dual Mode Linker option is unchecked or it is checked but sync job is not executed yet then all the newly uploaded documents will go to the Database or externalizer. 
 
 
 
 
Keep Versions of the Linked File:
 
  • Select "Keep Older vesions" option in order to keep older versions of linked documents and then add a new storage device, where all older versions will be kept.
 
 
 
 
  • Click Add Storage Device for versions.
 
 
 
  • Enter Storage Device Name and path. User Name and Password are optional fields.
  • Click Add button to create device.
 
 
 
 
  • "Create Sub Folder for Versions of each File" option creats sub folders for versions of apiece file. If you select this option then all versions of a document will be kept in this sub folder.
 
Overwrite Existing Files:
 
  • By enabling "Overwrite existing files" option, sync job will overwrite existing files in ShairPoint document library with the new files of same name.
  • But if versioning in SharePoint library is enabled and while uploading a document “Add as a new version to existing files” option is checked then separate versions will be maintained.
  • If "Overwrite Existing Files" is not enabled then files will not be overwritten and an error message will be displayed.
 
 
 
User Credentials:
 
  • First Check "Use following credentials" option and then select required user from the list of available users.
  • If "User Credentials" option is checked and user is selected then, files will be linked to the SharePoint document library by the specified user.
  • If this option is disable then default system account will be used.
 
 
Content Synchronization Job:
   
"Synchronization Content" job is a recurring job that can be scheduled to synchronize the SharePoint document library and the storage device. This job is responsible for the following tasks:
 
  • "Include hidden files" if enabled will include all the hidden files on a file share to be linked on SharePoint document library.
  • To schedule this job, users are supposed to enable the job and specify the server and time for the job to run.
  • "Enable job throttling" option will apply the already configured throttling settings for this job. User can also configure throttling for this job using Edit Settings link, where user can configure speed for this job.
 
Note:
  • New documents cannot be linked directly to the SharePoint document library. Files can only be linked once the Content Synchronization job executes.
  • Only one Content Synchronization job can run at a time.
 
 
 
 
 
 
See Also
 
Copyright © 2012 Alachisoft. All rights reserved.